Chapter 2 Memoriam (Daily Ch by Ch review of Deathly Hallows)

Chapter 2 Memoriam

In short, Dumbledore backstory. I have a confession. First time I read this chapter, I
skimmed. It’s a bad habit, but if there is a long, extended book-within-a-book or article-within-a-book, I just skim. I already struggle with long, extended block quotes. But back story, with only 10% applicable to the overall plot? Skim. I will say though, this big reveal of Dumbledore’s back story was pretty cool. It felt like visiting grandma’s houseand seeing pictures of my Dad in his afro days. Reading this chapter helped me realize that Dumbledore was more than a caricature of a kind, old wizard.
In this chapter we get the full gament of people’s view on Dumbledore. Elphias Doge concludes that Dumbledore was never proud or vain, while Rita Skeeter decimates every inch of his character. Honestly, wish I could get a lot out of this chapter, but it was only a bridge for the next plot point in chapter 3.

One thought on “Chapter 2 Memoriam (Daily Ch by Ch review of Deathly Hallows)

Leave a Reply

