Why I warmed up to the Twilight series, and what it means for Nikolas and Co…

Alright folks. I have to make a confession about the The Twilight series and why I shut down the Guys Can Read podcast. As many of you know, a couple of months ago we closed down Guys Can Read. It was a podcast series that focused on writing and sharing books for the “guy” reader, and  where we condemned the Twilight series at every turn. I also haven’t written anything new in the last couple of months. There’s a reason for that, to which I haven’t been terribly honest about (Luke knows, actually). Though I’ve publicly denounced the Twilight series, I’ve been sneaking off to read it. I did it as a challenge to a female listener. And surprise, this series is AWESOME! I get it now. And really, I think Nikolas and Co could be more multi-faceted and benefit from a lot more romantic intrigue. It will probably move from the fantasy adventure market to the Young adult paranormal romance market, which has a GREATER audience anyway. And I really think the eleven-year-old boy reader is much more sophisticated than we give them credit for. I’m kind of excited to develop Nikolas’s love triangle between Helen and Constance (who happens to be a succubus, but hides it with her advanced form of jyn’uss). Here’s a scene where Constance confesses to Nikolas about her succubus past:

.

.

.

.

.

Really? Did you really fall for another April fools joke? 

Once again. All too easy. (and a little hurtful that you would think I’d jump the sparkly vampire bandwagon).

twilight_cover-s6-c10

2 thoughts on “Why I warmed up to the Twilight series, and what it means for Nikolas and Co…

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that,
    this is fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be
    back.

Leave a Reply

